top of page
Search

Combatting reading apathy...

Is it just me, or has reading apathy become more common lately? I'm not sure if it's a result of the pandemic or if it's due to extreme anxiety from such a lack of routine. Regardless, reading apathy is not easy to deal with. I would know.

At the start of the pandemic, I made it a goal to make more time for reading- seeing as I have enough books to last me a lifetime- and honestly, this plan of mine turned out great until reality started to set in that the world was pretty much falling apart around me. On top of that came school- pursuing two bachelor's degrees at once, and being a frontline worker. It ended up being WAY too much. I'd get home and I wouldn't want to do anything but sleep. It honestly felt like the spark was gone and there was no motivation.


Now, I'll be honest with all of you- I pulled this puppy out of my drafts from March of 2020, and it's still something I am struggling with. Today, the day I'm writing this, I came to a realization that nothing should get in the way of doing what you love- especially when it "saves" you from reality. I mean, reading has always been an escape for me. It's been a way to wind down, connect, and just take time for me. I didn't realize how much I missed it.


I'm under a lot of pressure and a lot of stress- and I don't this to be a product of that- I want this to be an outlet for myself, and anyone who's struggling and just needs to get swept away by beautifully written literature. Help me help you. Maybe we can figure this out together? What do you say?


ANYWHO, let's talk about some ways to kick reading apathy to the curb...


1. Read books from different genres- Maybe your continuous indulgence in thrillers is becoming a bit boring, so maybe switching to a romance or science-fiction novel could reignite the flame. There's no harm in exploring and re-evaluating your interests.

2. Engage with reading across different types of media- novels aren't the only thing that counts as reading. Try flipping through a magazine, or take a trip down memory lane with a classic children's book. It's always helpful to remember that imagination has no age.


3. Don't force it- this may sound pretty unhelpful but you'll get the most out of a book when you genuinely have the motivation to read. This is the one that's been really affecting me.


4. Be strategic- It's not a good idea to read a chapter or two with the expectation that you'll be hooked. Start with the description and go from there. If you aren't intrigued after reading the synopsis- look for something else. It's important to enjoy what you're reading.


I hope this helps, even just a little. Reading is one of the truest forms of magic in my life and I never want to lose that. I hope I was able to reignite your flame.


As always, I adore you. Be kind, be strong, be extraordinary.


xx Chief Librarian







25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page