top of page
Search

My favourite reads.

Updated: Jun 21, 2019

There are seriously so many books to read, and so little time to read them....

When Frank Zappa said "So many books, so little time." he was so right. It's crazy how many different books there are out in our universe. I picked this saying for the name of my blog and online brand, because I can relate to it on deep levels. I have books from a year ago that I haven't touched yet, and it's crazy to me how little time I have to get through all of them.

Despite a lack of time to read lately, I do squeeze in time where I can and I try to make it work. I've always loved to read. It's been "my thing" for years and it wasn't until recently where reading and books had become something I am so deeply passionate about. I rely so much on reading for so many different reasons, (if you want to know these reasons, you can find them in a past post of mine called "My reasons for reading") and it's something that I genuinely love.

On my reading journey, I have come across so many gems, and books that I just want to read over and over again. Every book brings something different and I don't think there is such thing as a bad book. I just think that it's important to find the right one for you. My favourite genre would definitely be thriller or mysteries. Anything that has a detective within it (hey, sherlock!!) is right up my alley. I also like romance here and there, but if it really came down to it, i'd probably read anything I could get my hands on. (When I say "anything," I mean "ANYTHING")


Here is a list of my top 10 favourite reads of all time (in no particular order.):


1. After Anna- Alex Lake

Here's a brief summary:

"The real nightmare starts when her daughter is returned...A bone-chilling psychological thriller that will suit fans of Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn, Daughter, by Jane Shemilt, and The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins. A girl is missing. Five years old, taken from outside her school. She has vanished, traceless. The police are at a loss; her parents are beyond grief. Their daughter is lost forever, perhaps dead, perhaps enslaved. But the biggest mystery is yet to come: one week after she was abducted, their daughter is returned. She has no memory of where she has been. And this, for her mother, is just the beginning of the nightmare."

I read After Anna a while ago and loved it so much that I ended up buying all of Lake's other novels. I can say that he is for sure one of my favourite authors out there. It is a thriller, and one that is so quick paced, it keeps the reader on the edge of their seat for the duration of the story.


2. The Book Thief- Markus Zusak

"In 1938, young orphan Liesel (Sophie Nélisse) arrives at the home of her new foster parents, Hans (Geoffrey Rush) and Rosa (Emily Watson). When Hans, a kindly housepainter, learns that Liesel cannot read, he teaches the child the wonders of the written language. Liesel grows to love books, even rescuing one from a Nazi bonfire. Though Liesel's new family barely scrape by, their situation becomes even more precarious when they secretly shelter a Jewish boy whose father once saved Hans' life."

I read The Book Thief a while ago, for an assignment in my literature class, as I had to analyze the theme of Death as a character, which you'd understand if you read this. It's a pretty quick and easy read it sends off a wonderful message that makes the reader think. I also really liked it because of the fact that there are books involved. It underlying message, while there are many, is that reading and words can play such a large role in bringing the unlikeliest of people together.


3. Crazy Rich Asians- Kevin Kwan

"Rachel Chu is happy to accompany her longtime boyfriend, Nick, to his best friend's wedding in Singapore. She's also surprised to learn that Nick's family is extremely wealthy and he's considered one of the country's most eligible bachelors. Thrust into the spotlight, Rachel must now contend with jealous socialites, quirky relatives and something far, far worse -- Nick's disapproving mother."

I got the CRA trilogy for Christmas and was so excited to read it because everyone around me was talking about it. Once I started, i genuinely couldn't stop and I am quite happy about that. I sped through all 3 books in a pretty short amount of time and really enjoyed reading them. This is not only a romance, but a comedy, and it highlights the trials and tribulations that individuals can endure during a relationship, as well as how love can truly conquer all.


4. The Great Gatsby- F. Scott Fitzgerald

"The Great Gatsby is the story of eccentric millionaire Jay Gatsby as told by Nick Carraway, a Midwesterner who lives on Long Island but works in Manhattan.Gatsby's enormous mansion is adjacent to Carraway's modest home, and Carraway becomes curious about his neighbor after being invited to one of his famous parties."

The Great Gatsby is probably my favourite classic out there. It's timeless and such a great story. Fitzgerald's main character, Jay Gatsby, personifies the American dream, due to being a self-made man who pulled himself out of hardship and poverty, only to meet a tragic end. The moral of the story is that the American dream, that everyone wants to live so badly, is not attainable at all and that money is not everything. I found myself really connecting with Gatsby and Carroway and I really like the way it was written. I definitely recommend.


5. To All The Boys I've Loved Before-

"Lara Jean keeps her love letters in a hot box her mother gave her. They aren't love letters that anyone wrote for her; these are ones she's written. One for every boy she's ever loved- five in all. When she writes, she can pour out her heart and soul and say all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly Lara Jean's love life goes from imaginary to out of control."

TATBILB was such a cute and fun book to read. It is a series, and I have yet to read the second novel, P.S. I Still Love You. It is a romance, one that you would only see in books and movies, but it was so cute. It made me set expectations extremely high, and need a Peter Kavinsky in my life. The movie (a pretty good book turned movie moment too) did not help with this either because Noah Centineo is an abdolutely cutie. Back to the book though, it's light-hearted, quick paced and good for someone who wants a little pick-me-up and/or cheering up after a bad day. A cute fictional romance is all we need sometimes, am I right?


6. It's Kind of a Funny Story- Ned Vizzini

"Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life--which means getting into the right high school to get into the right college to get the right job. But once Craig aces his way in Manhattan's Executive Pre-Professional High School, the pressure becomes unbearable. He stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself. Craig's suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbours include a transsexual sex-addict, a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armello. There, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety."

I loved this book so much, and even though it sounds pretty dark and heavy, it's actually really fun and uplifting. Teenagers these days experience what Craig did on a daily basis, and I really respect Vizzini for putting this message out there and raising awareness for the topic of mental health and self care. I think every teen should read this, and I think that there is a little something for everyone. Definitely a read that changed my life.


7. A Simple Favor- Darcy Bell

"It starts with a simple favor-- an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When glamorous Emily asks Stephanie to pick up her son after school, Stephanie happily says yes. Emily has a life that would make any woman jealous. She is the perfect mother with a dazzling career working for a famous fashion designer in Manhattan. Stephanie, a widow with a son in kindergarten, lonely in their Connecticut suburb, turns to her daily blog for connection and validation. Stephanie imagines Emily to be her new confidante and is shocked when Emily suddenly disappears without a trace, leaving her son and husband with no warning. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong. Unable to keep away from the grieving family, she soon finds herself entangled with Seab, Emily's handsome, reticent British husband. But she can't ignore the nagging feeling that he's not being honest with her about Emily's disappearance. Is Stephanie imagining things? How well did she really know her "best" friend? Stephanie begins to see that nothing-- not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor-- is as simple as it seems."

This book, and the movie definitely gave me a thrill. The movie stars Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively, and Henry Golding. They did such a great job of bringing the characters to life and helping readers visualize what they are like in person. I love thrillers so much, and I love the rush of adrenaline that you get. This novel kept me on the edge of my seat and mad eme desperately want a sequel. I 100% recommend this for any thrill seekers out there.


8. And Then You Were Gone- RJ Jacobs

I wrote a blog post on this book already, so if you're interested, the synopsis and basic summary can be found there as well as all of my thoughts. To be brief, it's a PHENOMENAL novel that you should deifnitely read if you like mysteries and/or thrillers. Jacobs is a magnificent writer and I promise that you will fall in love with the characters once you start reading this! Go pick it up. you won't regret it.


9. Chop Shop- Andrew Post

I have also read an Advanced Reading Copy of Chop Shop already and have written a full post and review on it with my thoughts, so if you are interested, definitely go check it out. It is quite dark, and while it may come off as kind of heavy, it's mainly a story about sacrifice and the distance someone would go for the person they love. It hits the shelves June 27th so make sure you all grab a copy and show Andrew some much deserved love.


10. All The Bright Places- Jennifer Niven

"Theodore Finch is fascinated by death. Every day he thinks of ways he might die, but every day he also searches for--and manages to find--something to keep him here, and alive, and awake. Violet Markey lives for the future, counting the days until graduation, when she can escape her small Indiana town and her aching grief in the wake of her sister's death. When Finch and Violet meet on the ledge of the bell tower at her school--six stories above ground--it's unclear who saves whom. Soon it's only with Violet that Finch can be himself. And it's only with Finch that Violet forgets to count away the days and starts living them. But as Violet's world grows, Finch's begin to shrink...."

This book was completely heartwrenching and such an intense love story. It made me laugh, cry, and experience so many emotions at once. It really shows the imoact that a relationship can have on somebody's life and how important it can be for someone to feel loved and accepted. I think anyone could read this and get something out of it, and it's just really meaningful and impactful. The characters are so easy to love, and Niven writes a way that the reader can actually feel as if they are actually experiencing life with Violet and Theo. It;s a great read, just make sure you have some kleenex with you when you start.


These 10 books have left such a large impact on me, as have many others, but these are the ones that have stood out to me the most. I was able to take something unique away from all of them and was truly able to enjoy my time reading them. I love so many books, too many to list, but these 10 have definitely meant a lot to me. As I continue to read, and broaden my horizons, I am sure that this list will change a little, but I guess we will have to wait and see.


Feel free to comment some of your favourite books down below. I'd love to talk about them with you and discover some new titles for myself.


Thank you, as always, for reading.


Until next time, fellow readers!

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page